2018-2019 committee:

Peter Liu

President – Peter Jianrui Liu, Jesus College

I am currently reading for a D.Phil. in Clinical Medicine co-supervised by Profs. Jane McKeating and Sir Peter Ratcliffe to explore how viruses exploit oxygen sensing pathways to induce cancer. I completed two years of the Doctor of Medicine Program at the University of Toronto and will return after my time in Oxford to complete the final two years as a part of my physician-scientist training. As a Canadian who grew up in the Rocky Mountains, naturally my hobbies include hiking, traveling, and skiing.

Deepanshu Singh

Vice President– Deepanshu Singh, St Anne’s College

I am a first year doctoral student in the Department of Engineering Science. I am working with Rolls-Royce to improve the efficiency of gas turbine aircraft engines. Before starting my DPhil at Oxford, I did my undergrad in Mechanical Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi. In my spare time, I enjoy playing tennis. Taking inspiration from Elon Musk, I realised that an idea that may be laughable today might go on to change the world tomorrow. I have often fondly imagined a world with no cars and no roads, but only ubiquitous air vehicles!

Nessa Carson

Treasurer – Nessa Carson, University College (alumna)

Chemistry alumna of University College. I invite speakers, coordinate the team’s activities, and work with our committee and members to support the OUSS mission statement, “for the public dissemination of science”.

Out of OUSS, I work in the drug discovery industry with my army of kickass chemistry robots. My hobbies include going to conferences, looking up new conferences to attend, and wishing I were at conferences.

suer circle

Secretary – Suer Zhou, St Anne’s College

Suer Zhou is a second-year D.Phil student studying Materials Science. She enjoys going to scientific talks and exhibitions. Her favorite topics include AI, quantum computing, space (and time!) travel, and neuroscience. In her spare time, she enjoys cooking and baking. She also loves to play volleyball.



Publicity Officer – Luiza Bondila

I am a 4th year DPhil student researching the supramolecular chemistry of anions. I love cute animals,  popularising science and learning useless trivia. At any given time, you can find me fussing random animals on the street, headbanging to obscure black/death metal bands or making memes. Chemistry is love, chemistry is life!


Sponsorship Officer – Matthew Raybould

I am a third year DPhil student in the Oxford Protein Informatics Group based at the Department of Statistics. I work with Professor Charlotte Deane and four industrial companies developing software to facilitate in silico therapeutic antibody design. In my spare time I play cello with the Oxford University Press orchestra, and play floorball and badminton at Iffley Road.

Priyadarshini circle

Webmaster – Priyadarshini Chatterjee

I am a second year undergraduate Biochemistry student. I am extremely interested in the molecular mechanisms and metabolism of biological systems. I am passionate about scientific outreach and communication. In my spare time I enjoy doodling (read procrastinating) and playing piano and recorder.

Raymond Ho

Events Officer – Raymond Man Him Ho

Hi, my name is Raymond and I am 2nd year Psychology student. When I am not helping with a society, you may find me chasing and attempting to pet every single cat at Oxford or destroying my vocal cords at the Gilbert and Sullivan society/in the shower (my poor neighbours). Anyway, I am looking forward to welcoming you to our society (I need human subjects to experiment on) and hope you will enjoy OUSS as much as I do!


Membership Officer – Jack Hardwick

I’m a fourth-year DPhil student in the chemistry department. My research focuses on the effects of epigenetic modifications on DNA structure. When not doing that, I’m often playing, or trying to restore, my beloved old upright piano.

Previous committee members of the Oxford University Scientific Society can be viewed in the Committee archive.

Joining the committee

There is a high turnover of committee members, so we are constantly seeking committed, resourceful people to join the team of students who are responsible for the running of one of Oxford’s oldest and largest societies. Elections are held in Week 8 of each term during our termly general meeting (TGM). If you would like to get involved with Oxford University Scientific Society, contact us at for more information.


Senior Member Professor Kay Davies DBE, FRS FMedSci (Genetics)
Patron Professor Peter Atkins FRSC (Chemistry)
Patron Professor Sir Colin Blakemore FRS FMedSci FRSB FBPhS (Physiology)
Patron Professor Marcus du Sautoy OBE FRS (Mathematics)
Patron Professor Sir Roger Penrose OM FRS (Mathematics)