2019-2020 committee:

President – Deepanshu Singh, St Anne’s College

I am a second year doctoral student in the Department of Engineering Science. I am working with Rolls-Royce to improve the efficiency of gas turbine aircraft engines. Before starting my DPhil at Oxford, I did my undergrad in Mechanical Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi. In my spare time, I enjoy playing tennis. Taking inspiration from Elon Musk, I realised that an idea that may be laughable today might go on to change the world tomorrow. I have often fondly imagined a world with no cars and no roads, but only ubiquitous air vehicles!


Vice PresidentMatthew Raybould, Merton College

I am a third year DPhil student in the Oxford Protein Informatics Group based at the Department of Statistics. I work with Professor Charlotte Deane and four industrial companies developing software to facilitate in silico therapeutic antibody design. In my spare time I play cello with the Oxford University Press orchestra, and play floorball and badminton at Iffley Road.


Treasurer – Anka Lucic, St Cross College

My name is Anka Lucic and I am 25 years old. I am currently studying for a DPhil in structural biology in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Oxford. My research is focused in the field of antimicrobial resistance, in particular using dynamic structural biology methods to understand how beta lactamases break down a wide range of antibiotics including penicillins. My undergraduate was in Biochemistry which I studied at King’s College London. I then pursued a masters in Molecular Biophysics at the same university where I studied the use of nanobodies as crysrallisation chaperones for parts of the motor protein Kinesin 1.

suer circle

Secretary – Suer Zhou, St Anne’s College

Suer Zhou is a second-year D.Phil student studying Materials Science. She enjoys going to scientific talks and exhibitions. Her favorite topics include AI, quantum computing, space (and time!) travel, and neuroscience. In her spare time, she enjoys cooking and baking. She also loves to play volleyball.


Publicity Officer – Tooki Chu

Tooki is a third year undergraduate studying Biomedical Sciences. She is passionate about raising public awareness and general understanding of science. In her free time, she enjoys travelling, occasionally procrastinating, and finding new places to eat.

Diversity Advisor – Gurpreet Bharj


Director of Events – Cristina Castro Vargas

I am a 2nd year DPhil student in the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory, investigating how low-temperature reactions can be used to design crystalline materials with new or enhanced properties. Before coming to Oxford, I completed my undergraduate studies at the University of Tübingen in Germany. When I’m not in the lab, I like to explore the world one new word and one unusual dish at a time.

Edit photo

 – Luna Li

Hi, I am Luna! For those of you who doesn’t know me, I am a second year undergraduate studying Biomedical Sciences at University College. I really hope that in the coming year, along with the rest of the OUSS committee team, we will be able to make Science Soc a better platform for anyone and everyone who is interested in what we do. If you have any queries or suggestions for the committee team, feel free to drop me a message on Facebook or LinkedIn!


Social Media Officer – Dr Thomas Crawford

Dr Tom Crawford holds the position of Early-Career Teaching and Outreach Fellow at St Edmund Hall where alongside his teaching duties he runs the award-winning website which aims to make maths learning engaging, entertaining and exciting for all. He completed his Undergraduate degree at Oxford and his PhD in Applied Maths at the University of Cambridge where he specialised in Fluid Mechanics.


Webmaster – Carlos Outeiral Rubiera

I am a second-year DPhil student in the Oxford Protein Informatics Group. I work developing algorithms for protein structure prediction, using a variety of multidiscplinary techniques — from quantum computing, to machine learning, to insights from molecular biology. Outside of the research world, I am passionate about technology, entrepreneurship and cooking.

Previous committee members of the Oxford University Scientific Society can be viewed in the Committee archive.

Joining the committee

There is a high turnover of committee members, so we are constantly seeking committed, resourceful people to join the team of students who are responsible for the running of one of Oxford’s oldest and largest societies. Elections are held in Week 8 of each term during our termly general meeting (TGM). If you would like to get involved with Oxford University Scientific Society, contact us at for more information.


Senior Member Professor Kay Davies DBE, FRS FMedSci (Genetics)
Patron Professor Peter Atkins FRSC (Chemistry)
Patron Professor Sir Colin Blakemore FRS FMedSci FRSB FBPhS (Physiology)
Patron Professor Marcus du Sautoy OBE FRS (Mathematics)
Patron Professor Sir Roger Penrose OM FRS (Mathematics)